Rachel Reviews: City of Heavenly Fire

1PcXfbT

Title: City of Heavenly Fire

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Date completed: 11th July 2017

Goodreads rating: 5 stars

*THIS REVIEW MAY ACCIDENTALLY CONTAIN A FEW SPOILERS – ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK*

So the general consensus for The Mortal Instruments is that the final three books weren’t necessary/weren’t as good/were generally protracted and unnecessary. Well, I have to say that I COMPLETELY DISAGREE. It was the final three books of The Mortal Instruments that made me really fall in love with this series. Each book just got better, and in my opinion the final three books were just much more mature, complex, and fun. So there we go.

Let’s get the obvious one out of the way first – Magnus, Alec, and Izzy were their pure, badass, sassy, amazing selves. It’s been a looooong time since I felt so much attachment to fictional characters. Honestly, I would read entire series just about Malec and Izzy (hint: Cassandra Clare please write more Malec. Entire novels of Malec. #MALEC4LYF). It was so nice to explore a more emotional and vulnerable side to both Magnus and Alec, although I do wish more had been shown from Alec’s POV to really get inside his head.

I also really enjoyed Jonathon/Sebastian’s character arc. Whilst Valentine was your typical Voldemort-style baddie, Jonathon/Sebastian ended up having a much more complex story with a lot more character development that I ended up loving. I never felt all that attached (in either a good or bad sense) to Valentine as the villain, but I felt invested in Jonathon, and the climax to his story had me holding my breath and crying.

Also great were the new LA Shadowhunters, particularly Emma and Ty. I can’t wait to see more of these characters in The Dark Artifices. I sense Ty is going to be a new fave. I hope that we might even get to see scenes from his POV, because it would be really interesting to see the Shadowhunter world from his perspective.

This links pretty well to the overlap between The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments. Jem is one of my faves ever (except for Magnus and Alec), so seeing his story overlap with the NY and LA Shadowhunters just made me so damn happy. It was nice to see the different generations connect, and seeing as I loved TID it was nice to see more of that story in TMI.

You know what, even Clary didn’t annoy me all that much in this book. I almost even liked her. I also liked Simon. I feel like he really came into his own as a character in the final three books, and I enjoyed seeing him grow up (that ending though. Heart. Breaking.

Basically, if you can’t tell, I just thought it was great. I really didn’t want the series to end, and I know I’ll be rereading it (well, books 4-6 at least) in the relatively near future. I’m so impressed by how far the series (and Cassandra Clare’s writing) has come since City of Bones (which I still enjoyed, but in comparison…), and even more impressed that I world I had no interest in until a month ago managed to so completely consume me. I’ll be taking a Shadowhunters break for a bit to read some V.E. Schwab, but I’m already itching to read The Dark Artifices and fall in love all over again.

Consider me converted to the Shadowhunter world.

5/5 stars.

 

2 thoughts on “Rachel Reviews: City of Heavenly Fire

  1. Omg I love your review!! I totally loved the last three books and agree that they bought more maturity into the series. I’ve read the dark artifices, and I love it as much, if not more than TMI!! Infant, I think it is one of Clare’s best works. Hope you love it as well! Would also love it if you could check out my blog, I write book reviews too!
    https://bookchantedblog.wordpress.com
    Great review, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

