Rachel Reviews: Clockwork Princess

clockwork-princess

Title: Clockwork Princess

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy

Format: Ebook

Date completed: 5th July 2017

Goodreads rating: 5 stars

I’ve left out the blurb because ultimate spoilers for the first two books

*THIS REVIEW MAY ACCIDENTALLY CONTAIN A FEW SPOILERS – ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK*

This will probably be a short review because a) spoilers and b) I can’t even get over how stunning this book was.

One of the best things about reading all the Shadowhunter books in a very short space of time is how obvious Cassandra Clare’s writing development is. The writing in Clockwork Princess was beautiful, and much more sophisticated than some of her earlier books. The writing and plot were so fleshed out, so developed, and it was an absolutely pleasure to read. There were so many twists and turns I just genuinely didn’t see coming, and the number of times I exclaimed “no!” was insane.

As always, I found the pacing really good. I think the Infernal Devices in general have a slower pacing than the Mortal Instruments, but Clockwork Princess balanced the line between slower scenes and fast paced action really well. I never felt distracted or bored whilst reading, and I was so invested in the story that I got a bit annoyed at my poor boyfriend when he came to bed early specifically to watch TV with me, because I just wanted to read. After a 1.5 hour Gordon Ramsay break, I went straight back into reading the final 25%, and spent the entire time gasping, squeaking, crying, chewing my lip, and just generally being ridiculous.

When I finished Clockwork Angel I didn’t feel as attached to the characters as I do to most of TMI characters (with the exception of Magnus who is ultimate bae). Well, let me tell you that all that changed. For reasons I won’t mention due to spoilers, I was literally bawling my eyes out. I felt genuinely heartbroken for Tessa, Jem, and Will, and I just wanted to scoop the three of them up into a huge cuddle. There were so many times in the final few chapters where I felt like I’d been punched in the stomach and was left literally reeling with shock, happiness, or heartbreak. I now understand why people were saying that The Infernal Devices is her best trilogy out of TID/TMI.

I’m not even going to bother with my What I Liked/What I Disliked, because I liked everything. It was great. Genuinely, properly great.

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Rachel Reviews: Clockwork Princess

Leave a Reply

