Rachel Reviews: Clockwork Angel

511mw8HJcGL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Title: Clockwork Angel

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy

Format: Ebook

Date completed: 24th June 2017

Goodreads rating: 4 stars

Blurb: 

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

What I Liked:

  • Magnus. Obviously. Moving swiftly on.
  • The setting. I have a super soft spot for anything fantasy-esque/steampunk set in Victorian England. This was no exception. I just found that the whole Shadowhunters world translated so well to Victorian England. I also LOVED the clockwork elements that made their way into the story.
  • The plot. Argh. There were so many twists and turns I felt like I was always on my toes. I also loved how it really fleshed out a lot of what happens in the Mortal Instruments. Solid overlapping.
  • The Downworlders. I really loved seeing more of the Downworlders, and having them play a bigger part in the story. Partially because it meant more Magnus, but also because the characters were so nuanced and complex and it was wonderful

What I Didn’t Like

  • The love triangle. I found it so forced. I know love triangles are a bit of a mainstay of YA, but I’m so over them. I knew immediately which couple I preferred, so I found every reference to the love triangle solidly boring.
  • The characters’ ages. I don’t care how many times I’m reminded that Charlotte is 23, in my head they’re all older. This is purely a result of where I am in my life at the moment, and I can hardly criticise YA for having teenage characters.

On the whole I really enjoyed this introduction to the Infernal Devices. I loved the world building and the plot, and I’m so excited to see where the story goes from here!

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

