Rachel Reviews: City of Glass

cog-cover

Title: City of Glass

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy

Format: Ebook

Date Completed: 19th June 2017

Goodreads Rating: 4 stars

Blurb:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

After the middle book slump of City of AshesCity of Glass was a welcome release. It was fast paced, action packed, and all around great.

What I Liked: 

  • Thorough character development. In City of Glass all of the characters become much more 3D, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The more periphery characters (such as Luke, Magnus, and the Lightwoods) were given stronger motivations and character traits, which really helped flesh out the plot. Simon is also finally given something other than ‘oh but I love Clary’ (I don’t think this is a spoiler) which made me like him a lot more than I did previously.
  • People finally told Clary off. I’ve already spoken about how my lack of resonating with Clary is probably more to do with my age than her character. That said, it was so refreshing in City of Glass to have people tell her off and actually see some consequences to her actions. I felt like she was finally growing as a character, which was nice to see.
  • The world. I don’t usually like urban fantasy, and although I’ve made an exception for the Shadowhunters, it was wonderful to spend most of our time in Alicante, the Shadowhunters’ fictional city. It just added a new layer of magic to the plot, which I thoroughly enjoyed.
  • Magnus. Magnus will always be on my ‘what I liked’ list. Always. He is wonderful and hilarious and witty. Team Magnus for life.
  • All the emotions. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the first two Mortal Instruments books, City of Glass was the first one to actually get me emotional. The reason why is a pretty huge spoiler, but let’s just say I was absolutely heartbroken and real tears were shed.

What I Didn’t Like

  • Clary. Yeah, still not a fan. I feel like the entire series would have been thoroughly improved if she wasn’t in it. Oh well.

City of Glass was the perfect end to the first half of the Mortal Instruments series. It was magical, heartbreaking, heart warming, hilarious, tense, and fun. Is it a literary masterpiece? No. Did I damn well enjoy it? Yes.

4.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

