Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Aka Rachel raves about the Shadowhunters books because it’s all she’s been reading for the past two weeks and is thoroughly obsessed. Sorry not sorry.

We are officially almost at the half way mark of 2017. I don’t even know how that happened. I’m actually ahead of where I expected to be reading wise. At the moment, I’ve read 14 books, which is slightly ahead of schedule. At the rate I’m tearing through the Shadowhunter series, I may in fact read 50 books in 2017 after all. I’m thoroughly out of my reading slump, and have so many books I’m excited to read!

This tag has been floating around on YouTube in the past few weeks, and I thought it would be a good way to take stock of my reading so far this year.

Best book you’ve read so far? It’s a tie between The Golden Yarn and City of Glass. Closely followed by Clockwork Angel.

Favourite sequel? Has to be City of Glass. It was not only one of my favourite books so far this year, but just such a good conclusion to the first half of the Mortal Instruments. It also made me cry. A lot.

Most anticipated new release (first half)? These are in hindsight, but Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab and Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’m pretty obsessed with Cassandra Clare atm, and I’ve been excited to read Victoria Schwab’s writing for AGES.

Most anticipated upcoming release (second half)? Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson. I definitely won’t have finished all of Way of Kings (let alone Words of Radiance), but I’m still excited.

Biggest disappointment? Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. I had such high expectations going into it, I thought I was going to be blown away and love it. I wasn’t, and I didn’t.

Biggest surprise? City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I only picked this up after getting sick of hearing Booktubers talk about it and watching the first episode of Shadowhunters on Netflix. That was on June 14th. I’ve now read the first 5 books (Mortal Instruments 1-4, Infernal Devices 1), and it’s only been two weeks.

Favourite new author? I mean it has to be Cassandra Clare, doesn’t it. I’ve read 5 of her books in a fortnight, all of them in one sitting…

New fictional crush/OTP? Ok, so spoilers af but Magnus and Alec. I just can’t. It breaks my heart. I love them. Ugh.

New favourite character? Obviously Magnus Bane, from the Mortal Instruments. How he isn’t everyone’s favourite character, I don’t know.

A book that made you happy? The Golden Yarn. Ooh, look, a non-Shadowhunters book! I love Cornelia Funke’s books, and whenever I read one of her books it feels like I’m slipping back into my childhood. Weird, yeah. I just love the weaving of fairytales and our world in with her own fantasy. I love the characters. I just loved it so much ok.

A book that made you cry? City of Glass. The reason why is pretty spoilers, but if you’ve read it, you’ll understand. Heart. Broken.

Favourite book to movie adaptation?  I haven’t seen it yet (because it hasn’t been released) but I’m pretty excited for Goodbye, Christopher Robin. Winnie the Pooh was a big part of my childhood (the old proper books, not the Disney cartoons), and from the trailer it looks like the movie is going to be heartwarming and pure and brilliant. (Unlike Saving Mr Banks which was brilliant and heartbreaking and I cried so much).

Favourite book review? I think you’re supposed to pick your own review for this. I was really proud of my review of Does My Head Look Big In This?. If I’m being honest though, my favourite review so far isn’t actually mine. It’s A Clockwork Reader’s The Cursed Child review. It contains a lot of spoilers, but as I have no interest in reading The Cursed Child I didn’t mind. It’s hilarious, it’s brutal, and sometimes I rewatch it just for fun. It’s super long, but worth it if you want a well thought out discussion of the script, or if you (like me) have no interest in reading it and want to hear someone tear it to shreds.

Most beautiful book? The Waterstone’s special editions of Lady Midnight and Lord of Shadows. They’re so beautiful. I NEED them.

Books to read by the end of the year? There are SO many. I’m well and truly out of my reading slump, and as a result I want to read EVERYTHING. This list is just the very top of the pile (and you’re about to notice a theme)…

  • Literally all the Shadowhunters books – Cassandra Clare
  • The Shades of Magic Series – Victoria Schwab
  • Monsters of Verity series – Victoria Schwab
  • The Great Library series – Rachel Caine
  • Blood for Blood – Ryan Graudin
  • Three Dark Crowns series – Kendare Blake

Bonus entry:

  • Way of Kings – Brandon Sanderson. All 1,000 words…

So that’s already around 20 books, and yet it’s only the beginning… The theme (if you didn’t notice) is fantasy/alternate history. My goal this year was to read books from 6 different genres, and I’ve done this already. Now, however, all I want to read is good old fantasy, and I’m not going to deny myself that pleasure.

If you want to do this tag, feel free to! Let me know you’ve done it down below so I can come and read your answers!

2 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. I love the Clockwork Reader! She’s brilliant. I may be wrong but I’m kinda getting vibes that you maybe didn’t hate the Shadowhunters series? 😛 Also, I am very excited by your tbr list. 😀

Leave a Reply

