Round 2 2017 Wrap Up – ROW80

I can’t quite believe round 2 is already over. The past 80 days have flown by far too quickly, if you ask me. Still, here we are, at the end of the round, which means it’s time to wrap up and see how much I’ve managed to achieve since April! (Spoiler: a fair amount).

  • Begin the first draft of Blood of Queens

I haven’t made anywhere near as much progress on Blood of Queens as I would have liked. I wrote around 15,000 words, but only about 8,000 of those have made it into my ‘going forwards’ BoQ draft. I’m now really happy with the direction my story is going (finally), but it’s hard to feel as though I’ve been quite as productive as I wanted to this round in terms of actual writing.

  • Read 9 books across at least 3 different genres

Success! June has been the month of reading, which has hurried along my reading progress substantially. Since the start of April, I’ve read the following books:
April
– On The Other Side, Carrie Hope Fletcher (2 stars)
– The Golden Yarn, Cornelia Funke (5 stars)
– The Virgin Suicides, Jeffrey Eugenides (4.5/5 stars)
May
– The Time Machine, H.G. Wells (3.5/5 stars)
– Nevernight, Jay Kristoff (2.5/5 stars)
June
– Does My Head Look Big In This?, Randa Abdel-Fattah (2.5/5 stars)
– City of Bones, Cassandra Clare (4/5 stars)
– City of Ashes, Cassandra Clare (3.5/5 stars)
– City of Glass, Cassandra Clare (5/5 stars)

You can tell what brought me out of my reading slump (brought on by the disappointment that was Nevernight), or perhaps I should say who. Over the course of literally two weeks I’ve gone from being thoroughly disinterested in all the Shadowhunter novels to being somewhat obsessed and addicted to them all. I have reviews up for all the books except Does My Head Look Big In This? (coming Friday), City of Ashes (coming next week), and City of Glass (coming ASAP). If you want to read any of them, my link to all my reviews is here.

  • Blog x6 per week across both blogs

Aside from a few slip ups, this was pretty well and truly achieved. I’ve even managed to get in more posts over on my travel blog, which was a big goal of mine.

  • Create character profiles and pinterest boards

If you’re interested in taking a sneak peak into the people who inspire my characters, this is the link to my character pinterest board. I add to this one more than any other pinterest board (I really like faces), so there’s always plenty more to look at. I’ve also written down quite a few notes for myself about the main characters, their personalities, and their goals etc.

  • Establish world layout, major locations, and pinterest inspiration boards for Blood of Queens world

This was the goal I had to spend a bit of time on at the very end of the round to achieve. I’m fine at pinning settings etc, but I hadn’t really written down all that much on the settings for Blood of Queens. There’s still a few things I need to work out in more detail, but I’m happy with the progress I made. The world really feels like it’s coming together!

ROW80Logocopy

All in all, round 2 2017 was really quite successful. I’m managed to happily cross off every goal (even if I feel like I could have done more writing), and I even overachieved on a few of them. After a slow start in April, this round was officially a success. I’m going to keep up with my weekly goals until round 3 starts so I don’t lose motivation, so hopefully round 3 will be just as successful!

Leave a Reply

