Just Not Interested

I’ve spotted a few people over on BookTube (aka book people on YouTube) doing the “Book’s I’ll (Probably) Never Read” tag, and I thought I’d give it a go. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’m trying to keep Friday book themed, either with reviews, tags, ramblings or anything else remotely book related. Let me know if you like this sort of content!

1) A really hyped book you’re not interested in reading.
I could pick so many. But, I’m gonna go with Illuminae. I know, I know, it’s supposed to be SO amazing blah blah blah, but I literally just don’t care. I love sci-fi, and I’ve been reading it since I was quite little, but I quickly learned one thing. When it comes to sci-fi or dystopian I can’t do YA. Maybe one day something will come along and change this. But for now, nothing has. And I very much doubt Illuminae would.I’m not interested in the whole “wow such cool different format woah” selling point. I’m not interested in the “YA love trapped in space” thing. If I want sci-fi, I’ll read Hitchhikers or Dune or The Infinity Concerto or just watch some good old Star Wars. Rant over.

2) A series you won’t start/won’t be finishing.
For me, this has to be the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. I didn’t mind the first Throne of Glass book, and I wouldn’t necessarily be against finishing the series (one day, maybe). I just have no interest in reading A Court of Thorns and Roses. The blurbs don’t grab me, the characters don’t really appeal to me, and honestly Sarah J. Maas didn’t really establish herself as a ‘must read’ author with Throne of Glass. If you think it’s really worth it, let me know, but otherwise I’m just not interested.

3) A classic that you’re just not interested in.
My instinctive reaction was to say Pride and Prejudice, but that’s not entirely fair. I love the movie version with Keira Knightly, and I loved the Lizzie Diaries series on YouTube. I just haven’t warmed to the novel whenever I’ve tried to read it. I’m relatively open to most classics, so the only ones I can really think of are Jane Austen books. Sorry.

4) A genre you never read.
Obviously there are exceptions to every rule, but I’d have to say urban fantasy. I adore fantasy. It is my favourite genre. I can read fantasy forever. But put it in the 21st century, usually with angels, and you’ve lost all of my interest. Equally, paranormal. Vampires? Warewolves? Zombies? Not. Interested.

5) A book on your shelves you’ll probably never actually read.
This isn’t a book I don’t want to read. I’d love to read this book one day, but I’m realistic (sometimes), and for the foreseeable future at least, I just don’t see it happening. And that is Les Miserables. It’s huge. It’s rambling. It’s filled with random voyages into French history. It’s huge. So, for the moment, it’s going to stay firmly in my ‘TBR (in the future)’ section.

So there you go, they are my answers to the “Books I’ll (Probably) Never Read” tag. You can do it if you want. I’m going to pester my fave Riona O’Inabha under she does it.

One thought on “Just Not Interested

Leave a Reply

