Rest and Review – ROW80 Update

After spending quite a few months in a state of emotional exhaustion (caused either by anxiety, travel, or being busy), on Sunday night my body decided enough was enough. As a result, I’ve spent most of the start of this week resting (more accurately, being forced to rest). As a result, my update is a little late this week.

Last Week’s Goals

  • Write 1 scene per day. I finished the week having written four (and a bit) scenes. That’s two thirds of my goal, so I’m calling it a semi-success.
  • Upload chapter 2 to CP drive. 
  • Prepare chapters 3 and 4 for CP drive. Ah. Yes. This hasn’t quite yet happened. Sorry CP!
  • Read King Rat. I didn’t end up reading King Rat. Alex was reading it, which meant it spent most of the week hiding wherever he hides books. Instead I read The Time Machine by H.G. Wells.
  • Blog x6. 
  • Upload pictures for week 2 of the bookstagram tags I’m taking part in.
  • Work out overall chapter structures and layout for Blood of KingsThere are still a few chapters that are a little hazy, but on the whole I have a plot structure/chapter structure! And also a new working title (thanks to some cheeky little world building I did): Blood of Queens. Ooh so different. Wow.

On the whole, things went really well last week until Sunday night. I had planned to write the final two chapters for my week after work on Sunday, and upload them to my CP drive. Instead, I got back from post-work Sunday night dinner feeling a bit off. This led to the decision to snuggle up in bed with my good old YouTube videos, and ended up with me waking up at 7am on Monday in a lot of neck pain, feeling thoroughly poorly. As a result, the start of this week has been a bit of a write-off productivity wise. I’m not upset about it though. My body was very clearly sick of me ignoring all the subtle messages that I needed a rest, so it sent me a few that were slightly more difficult to ignore. I’m still not feeling great, but I can concentrate enough through the brain fog to write this blog post, so hopefully we’re getting back on track. We’re also now over halfway through May, so I thought it might be a good time to see how I’m going with my monthly goals.

May Goals

  • Get half way through Blood of Queens. I don’t think this will happen, but you never know. I’m more realistically aiming to get between 1/4 and 1/3 of the way through (between 10 and 13 chapters).
  • Upload 1 chapter per week for my CP to read. So far, so good, although I’m a little behind schedule this week.
  • Read 3 books. 1 down, currently reading 2.
  • Blog x6 per week. Doing well so far.
  • Participate in an Instagram challenge on my new bookstagram. Not only if this going well, I’m loving it!
  • Continue to add to Pinterest boards for Blood of Queens. Also going well, although not as much of a strict focus as the others.

With all of that in mind, here are this week’s goals (even though we’re half way through the week already!).

This Week’s Goals

  • Read Independence or Union and Nevernight every day. I’m not planning on finishing either of these books this week, but I’m trying to read from both.
  • Finish chapters 3 & 4 and upload to CP drive. This probably won’t happen until Friday (or maybe even Saturday), but it will happen.
  • Prepare chapter 5 for CP. Pretty self-explanatory.
  • Blog x4.
  • Upload images for week 3 prompts to Instagram. This will mean uploading two photos a day for a bit, but I’m confident I can get it done.

I will be continuing to rest (where possible) this week, so don’t expect miracles. I hope your week has gotten off to a better start than mine!

8 thoughts on “Rest and Review – ROW80 Update

  1. Hugs on needing rest. I have fibromyalgia, so rest is so important, and I know it’s tempting to just keep going, stay up later, etc (I’ve been guilty of that, and more) but it needs to be done. I hope you feel better soon!

    Looks like you made good progress anyway! I call that a win!

      1. If you think so, see a rheumatologist. I put off trying to get a diagnosis for 2 years. Once I got my diagnosis, got on the right meds, and started looking after myself, I finally felt better. 🙂 I still have terrible fatigue, but my pain is down to almost nothing.

Leave a Reply

