Rapid Fire Booktag

I was tagged to do this booktag by my friend over at Ríona O’Inabha to do this challenge on my instagram literally 20 days ago. Oops. Still, better late than never, right? You are technically supposed to respond on instagram, but I decided to do it here.There’s more space here, anyway.

1. E-book or physical?
Always physical. I’ve tried e-books in the past, but they just don’t quite have the same magic that a physical book does. Obviously, physical books aren’t the most practical, so I subsitute them with audiobooks as well. I know a lot of people hate audiobooks, but I’ve grown up listening to them, and for some stories I feel that it really adds to the experience of reading the books (autobiographies, for example). But yes, always physical books.

2. Paperback or hardback?
Hardback. Paperbacks are easier to throw into a handbag, and are lighter, but I honestly prefer reading hardbacks, and I think they look so beautiful all lined up on a shelf together. At the end of the day though, I’ll go for whatever version has the most beautiful cover across the entire series.

3. Trilogy or series?
I honestly don’t really have a preference, I just want as many books as are appropriate. For example, Harry Potter wouldn’t really work the same with more or fewer than 7 books. Many books are designed to be part of a trilogy or series from the outset, whilst some end up feeling as though they could have been condensed into fewer books. I’m happy to read standalone, duology, trilogy, or series, as long as it doesn’t feel too rushed or too drawn out.

4. Recommended and underrated book?
The Mirrorworld series by Cornelia Funke, starting with The Petrified Flesh. You might have noticed by my review of the third book, The Golden Yarn, yesterday, but I love this series, and Cornelia Funke in general. Otherwise, I’d have to say the Trickster duology by Tamora Pierce. They’re probably my two favourite fantasy series. Ever.

5. Last book you bought?
I actually bought three books at once the other day when I found them, brand new, in a charity shop. They are the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness: The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, and Monsters of Men. Their pretty hyped up in the booktube world, and for £1.50 each I figured I could give them a try.

6. New or used books?
Used, but only if they’re in good condition. When I was younger, there was a huge secondhand bookshop down where my grandma lives, and I spent a lot of time in there buying books, particularly old editions of Enid Blighton novels. It’s always fun to go into Dymocks or Waterstones and buy a brand new book, but it’s just as wonderful to pop into a charity store and find a barely used copy of a book you’ve always wanted to read for only a few dollars!

7. Top three genres?
It will probably come as no surprise to anyone, but fantasy, historical fiction, and sci-fi.

8. Character or plot?
Both are obviously important, but I’d have to say character slightly edges over plot. If a book has a terrible plot, obviously I’m going to struggle, but I can forgive one or two plot holes if the characters are amazing. At the same time, a pretty good plot with characters I just can’t connect with, or that feel 2D/trope-like, just isn’t going to grab me the way a good plot with good characters will.

9. Long or short chapters?
Again, it depends on how well they are executed, but, in general, I’d have to go with short chapters. I like how they help the story progress, and you’re less likely to get bogged down or lose interest.

10. Name 3 books that come to mind.
Nevernight – Jay Kristoff
Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
The Last Kingdom – Bernard Cornwell

11. A book that made you laugh and cry.
Inkspell by Cornelia Funke. So much laughter, so many tears.

12. Our world or fictional?
Always fictional. I’ve been dreaming of escaping to fictional worlds for as long as I can remember. It’s one of my favourite things about reading.

I haven’t tagged anyone in this, but if you feel inspired to answer these questions, definitely let me know down below and I’ll pop over and read your answers!

2 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Booktag

  1. The Trickster duology is soo good!! 🙂 And after your review the other day, I looked up some more Cornelia Funke to add to my tbr. I love her Inkspell novels so fingers crossed I’ll like her other works too!

Leave a Reply

