Need To Know – WIPpet Wednesday

As I’ve been getting back into writing, and starting on a new project, I’ve been trying to write down any little snippets that spring into my mind, even if they don’t immediately related to what I’m up to plot-wise the moment they appear. Today’s WIPpet is one of those. It actually happens MUCH later on in my current WIP, possibly even in its sequel (I’m uncertain if it’s going to be a stand-alone or a duology). Obviously you’re not going to have much context, because a) it hasn’t been written yet, and b) it’s pretty spoilery.

If you’re not familiar with the concept, WIPpet Wednesday is a tag run by Emily Witt here in the blogging world. The idea is that every Wednesday you share a snippet from your current Work in Progress (WIP) that somehow corresponds to the date (we’re a bit creative with this). If you want to join in, click on this linky thingy (or just click on it to see what others have posted this week).

Today, my WIPpet is 4 little paragraph things for the fourth month. Genius.

“When did you plan on telling me this? On actually explaining what the signal was?” Kora’s voice shook as she spoke, threatening to burst free from the wall of controlled indifference she had built up.

The resistance leaders glanced at each other, then at Vigo, but said nothing.

“Were you even going to tell me?” Tears welled in her eyes, but she pushed them back. The last thing she needed was for them to question her loyalty, or label her as hysterical. Her eyes locked on Vigo’s. “You? Surely you were going to tell me?”

Vigo’s eyes flickered down to the ground, then back, level with hers, but not meeting her gaze. “It was need to know.” He finally muttered.

9 thoughts on “Need To Know – WIPpet Wednesday

  1. “Need to know” is one of those phrases that seems to be designed to protect people and prevent problems and yet…. causes so very, very many.

    Your writing style of random bits of story is a lot like mine. Even if I never actually use the pieces… just the way they get my head spinning into the possibilities is magical.

  2. I just got a new phone (my last one was edging on obsolete when I bought it two years ago), and it’s got a journal template. I’m thinking it might be a very cool way to gather the snippets and sparks that occur here and there.

    I try not to write more than a sketch, though, because, once I do, they start to solidify, and, sometimes, it’s better to keep them fluid and transient for a while.

    I’ll be back next week to see if you’re going to tell us what Kora “didn’t need to know”…

    Slices of an Unschooling Life
    @shanjeniah
    Indie Writer, Mom-in-Chief, and Joyful Learning Facilitator
    Shan Jeniah’s Lovely Chaos

Leave a Reply

