Being Different – ROW80 Update

I decided to mix things up a bit, and do two separate posts for my goals update and my WIPpet. If you hate this and want me to put them together, I will, but otherwise, I like that this format keeps the posts uncluttered.

Today is technically the last official day of Round 1, which means most people are summarising how their round went. Seeing as I didn’t really participate, I’m just continuing on with preparation goals as normal until Round 2 starts on April 2nd.

So, here’s my update on this week’s goals:

Keep up with blogging. So far, so good!

Develop plot more fully. This is coming along nicely. I have a pretty solid idea of the overall, big picture plot now, so it’s just a matter of working out how the sub-plots fit together etc. 

Create character interviews/profiles. I haven’t started this yet, but that’s a deliberate decision I made. Expect more progress in the second half of the week.

Read The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds. I’ve started The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds, but I’m having mixed feelings about it. It’s just a bit chick-lit, easy read-y, and I’m not really into those kind of books. I’m going to finish it as it’s really not long, but I don’t know if I’ll be reading other Alexander McCall Smith books. I’ve also been listening to The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher, which is hilarious and honest and wonderful and everything I expected it to be. 

Do something creative every day. Yes! I’ve been plotting and pinning and jotting down little snippets as they pop into my head. It feels lovely to just celebrate being creative, rather than focusing on how many words etc. At least for the moment, this is what I need to get back on track.

I’ve been feeling a bit off this week, but being able to look at the progress I’ve made makes me feel a lot better about things. The start of this week may have felt like a write-off, but I actually got a fair bit done, writing goals-wise at least.

I hope all you ROW-ers enjoy the little break, and I’ll be joining you ready to go for Round 2! Until then, hang around for my WIPpet, or check  back in on Sunday to see how I went with my goals for the rest of the week!

4 thoughts on “Being Different – ROW80 Update

Leave a Reply

