Going Along Smoothly – Update and WIPpet

I think I’m starting to slip into an almost routine. Things are a bit up in the air life-wise at the moment, so it’s really nice to have some routine to keep me grounded. On top of my ROW-related routines, I’ve also started doing pilates every day (except Sundays, Sundays are for pub roasts) and I’m beginning to learn Scottish Gaelic. If you’re interested in my language/academic related goals, let me know and I’ll include them in Round 2’s updates!

Progress so far this week:

Write 6 blog posts, 3 for this blog and 3 for my lifestyle blog. This will be my third for the week. I’m hoping to have two up on my lifestyle blog tomorrow and Friday, and one more on here either Friday or Saturday. So far, on track.

Finish The Amber Shadows. Not quite as on track with this, I have to admit. I maintain my optimism that I will finish by the end of the week, but we’ll see.

Write 500 words every day. I have’t done this, but to be honest I didn’t think I would. I’ve been writing, either novel or planning, every day, but I don’t think it’s come to 500 words per day. Oh well.

Figure out a more solid plot. This is coming along more smoothly. I have the bones of a plot (the very barest, but hey), I had a stroke of inspiration last night, and I’m feeling positive. I think changing it up to something different has been the move I needed to get me feeling motivated about writing again!

Create novel-related pinterest boards. My three novel related pinterest boards (characters, settings, world building) are coming along nicely. I might add a plot board, but we’ll see. You can check them out here, if you’re interested.

All going along swimmingly then (touch wood).

 

 

I figured a good place to begin with this new novel, WIPpet wise, was the beginning. There’s something nerve-racking about sharing an new piece of work with other people, even if it’s only a few lines. It’s still a bit rough, but it should give you an idea of how the novel will open. Also, if anyone can suggest any names for a female character, that’d be fab. Names are my nemisis, and a new plot means LOTS of new names!  WIPpet math is 12 sentences for 15-3.

“This isn’t a good idea.”

“Shh.”

The pair leant over the castle ramparts, peering down through the darkness into the city below. Beyond the city walls, inky water lapped at the breakwater, glinting occasionally as the beam from the lighthouse passed over it. “I’m serious, Ira.” The taller of the pair straightened. “This can only end badly.”

“You always say that.” The Queen huffed, swinging her left leg over the stone balustrade.

“And I’m always right.”

“Stay here then. I can go without you.”

8 thoughts on “Going Along Smoothly – Update and WIPpet

  1. Haha I love where this is headed 😛 As for names, those baby name websites are a godsend. Find a few names you like and play around with the sounds etc, see what you come up with. Good luck! 🙂

  2. If it ended well, there wouldn’t be a story, right? Intrigued to see where this is going.

    I second the baby name web sites. If I need one from a particular time or place, I also do an internet search for those specifics. If you’re using novel-writing software, I know some programs (like Scrivener) have built-in name generators.

  3. “And I’m always right” Hahaha. I love that.

    As for names, I have a baby names app I use as well as Scrivener’s name generator. I also have a website that has lists of popular names from the 1800s that I use when I’m writing my westerns.

Leave a Reply

