2017: The Year of Reading?

I probably say it every year, but this year will be year of reading. I’m determined.

But I don’t just want to read a lot of books. I want to diversify my reading. I have my genres that I like, and on the whole, I stick to them. These genres, without much variation, are dystopian (think Nineteen Eighty Four, not Hunger Games), fantasy, and historical fiction. They’re nothing wrong with that, of course, but I like a challenge. I also like books from other genres. I really enjoy sci-fi, yet I rarely read it. I particularly want to explore genres I haven’t read much from, or I’ve deliberately steered away from in the past.

So, my reading goal for this year is to read at least 20 books, across at least 6 different genres. I already have a few books I want to read to get me started, which themselves span historical fiction, magical realism (a genre I ALWAYS avoid), and autobiography/non-fiction.

Let me know if there are any books or genres you recommend, and if you fall into the trap of reading from the same genres on repeat.

Leave a Reply

