Overthinking It

I am a chronic overthinker. I overthink literally everything that could be overthought (even if no one else thinks it’s possible). This year, my overthinking has extended into my writing.

 

In previous years when it comes to NaNo I’ve been able to pump out a lot of words quite quickly. My plots usually flow relatively well (even when they deviate dramatically from their intended course). My characters either do what they’re told or have the decency to do something equally as exciting.

This first week of NaNo, however, I’m stuck. Not just “oh I don’t really feel like writing” stuck, or “eugh this particular scene isn’t working” stuck. Properly, “I can’t work out anything into a plot that makes sense and nothing is flowing or even working for more than 1,000 words” stuck.

It sucks.

I think my problem is that I’ve overthought everything too much. I’ve been working on this basic story, with these characters, in this world, for a long time. Which is great. But is also dangerous. I have so many new plots, new characters, new THINGS buzzing around inside my head, and I think I’ve been trying to cram too much into one novel (or one series).

I think I need to go back to the drawing board, write down all my ideas and characters and places and everything else and sort them out into something(s) that will work for more than 50,000 words in November.

How do you deal with overthinking in your writing? Any tips to help a struggling writer out?

 

4 thoughts on “Overthinking It

  1. Ok so I have struggled with this so much in previous NaNos and the main difference between then and now is that this year I’m working on something new. So maybe try that – different characters, a different world with different rules – and see where it takes you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

