The Return

Hello, blogging world! Long time, no interaction. How are you? What’s going on in your life?

To those of you who managed to stick around during my absence, thank you. I’ll be trying to get back into regular posting, so hopefully you’ll be rewarded for your perseverance!

Last week I finished my 15,000 word (well, 15,838 word) history honours thesis. It’s submitted, and I’m done with university for now. Since then, I’ve been enjoying my newly-discovered free time by celebrating with friends, rewatching Pretty Little Liars season 1, and enjoying not having to be productive.

But yesterday was November 1st, which as we all know means NaNoWriMo has started again, and it got me thinking about my poor, neglected novel. For those who were wondering, an honours thesis and a novel don’t work well together, in my experience. Now that my thesis is over though, I can return to my novel, and NaNo seems like the logical time to kick my writing butt back into gear.

I’ve had really mixed experiences with NaNo in the past, so I’m trying a new strategy for this year. Instead of trying to force myself to write thousands of words every day and feeling miserable when I don’t write enough, which tends to leave me with a lot of words that aren’t all that useful by the end of November, I’m going to do something different. I’m just going to write. I’m going to aim for at least the 1,667 words per day (averaged out because I’ve already missed day 1), maybe more, but I’m not going to force myself to write scenes I know I’ll just scrap in editing just to hit a daily target.

I say this, but I’m pretty damn competitive, so we’ll see how things go.

Are you a NaNo-er? What’s your strategy? Or do you just prefer to write when the mood strikes you, for as long as it strikes you?

One thought on “The Return

Leave a Reply

