WIPpet Wednesday: Punishment

I’ll skip the ‘omg it’s already Wednesday’ thing, we all know that’s how I feel.

Before we get into things, HAPPY STAR WARS DAY!! My the fourth (and the force) be with you.

star wars

 

This week has already been surprisingly (amazingly) productive, and as I result I’m feeling super motivated and on top of things.  At the same time though, I’m feeling rather overwhelmed with things to do and trying not to fall asleep in my desk chair. Who said contradictions couldn’t exist simultaneously?!

Anyway, I’ve been working on quite a few new scenes so far this week and nothing makes me feel excited quite like new scenes doing what they’re told and falling into place.  So far (touch wood) none of my characters have gotten into a strop and refused to do what I want them to do, which is another glorious victory!

For today’s WIPpet I have 5 paragraphs for the month of May. Easy peasy.

“Some of my clients would have had me kill you, teach you the unforgettable lesson and make sure none of the others made the same mistake.  But I couldn’t.”  A flicker of softness broke through his tough mask.  A memory, perhaps, of her as a child, before she had grown to old and things had changed.  The same memories she had.  “I care for you a great deal, Siri, you know that.”

She nodded.

“But you left me no choice, my little falcon.  I had to do something, something to show them that you can be trusted.  That I can be trusted.”

“And that something is in Taneka?”

Rinn turned from the window.  A small scroll was clutched in his right hand, a scarlet ribbon knotted around it.  “Yes, my little falcon.  The key to your forgiveness is in Taneka.”  He stepped back to her, his fingers suddenly warm and familiar against her cheek.  She could feel the heat of his breath on her skin, see his pulse racing in the veins beneath his skin.  “And this time,”  He leant forwards, his lips brushing against hers.  “You won’t let me down.”

Don’t forget to go and check out the other WIPpeteers and leave lovely comments on their posts!

9 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Punishment

  1. The tension and curiosity in this scene is very good. I like the last paragraph when he leaned over and brushed her lips saying those famous last words, “This time you won’t let me down.”
    Very good.
    Shalom Aleichem,
    Patricia

  2. I love the anticipation here—the motivation for her quest, the promise of something between them, and the tension of whatever it was Rinn had to do. Lots of little details.

Leave a Reply

