Rachel Reviews: Throne of Glass

16034235

Name: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy (Young Adult)

Format: Hardback/Audiobook

Date Completed: February 8 2016

Goodreads rating: 4 stars

Blurb: 

“Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

Throne of Glass has had A LOT of hype recently, both in the booktube world but also in my real world circles. And books that tend to have a lot of hype, in my experience, can go one of two ways. 1) Live up to the hype and be incredible or 2) Be a bit meh.

Throne of Glass was in between.

I feel like I need to do some sort of disclaimer to explain to you all that YA fantasy and I are currently having…issues.  No, we’re not breaking up (not yet anyway), but we’re just going through a rough patch.  I’m sure it’ll all be fine.  It’s just…well…not fine right now.

You see, I really, REALLY liked Throne of Glass.  I found the start a bit ‘yeah cool but I’m not super intrigued and I mean I could probably just put this down and read a few other books’.  Which is what I did.

Ooops.

I listened to the audiobook for a bit of my reading journey (chapter 6 to around chapter 25), but I found that actually reading it was much faster paced for me (I’m a quick reader) and I read the second half in only a few days.

I found the whole premise super intriguing, and the magical elements worked, which I can’t say is something I usually find (I love fantasy, but I’m not a HUGE fan of magic…go figure).  It wasn’t just magic for the sake of magic, or magic to make something in the plot happen which would have been ridiculous otherwise, it was genuinely well thought out, contributed to the story in a good way magic.  If that makes sense.

On the whole I really liked the various POVs that were introduced at different points throughout the novel, as although Celaena is obviously the main character I felt sometimes we just needed to see things from other perspectives.  I sometimes found all the POVs became a bit cluttered, but that could just be because my own preference is one POV per chapter.  I really liked most of the characters, and disliked the ones I was supposed to dislike, which is good.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book were the…well the YA bits. You know, the standard YA tropes/things that make it ‘accessible’ to YA audiences.

Celaena was, I’m sure, supposed to come off as self-confident veering on arrogant (a front btw), but sometimes I just wanted to shake her and scream “FOR GODS SAKES YOU STUPID STUCK UP PIG LISTEN TO CHAOL AND STOP BEING SUCH AN ASS OR I SWEAR I WILL PUT DOWN THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW”.  Don’t get me wrong, I really liked Celaena as a character, and even more than that I liked that she was flawed, as nothing annoys me more than one sided perfect characters.  It was just when she was prancing around being all “I don’t understand why I can’t just kill them all it’s so unfair that no one knows how great I am aren’t I great I wish I could show them that” that I wanted to hit her.

I also found the love story a bit predictable.  I mean, sure, it is YA, and with YA come certain expectations when it comes to love stories, but I just felt that this had the potential to be so much more original.  Saying that, I already know who I want her to end up with if (when) she ends up with someone, so it worked, I guess.

Basically, I liked Throne of Glass. Is it worth the hype? I don’t really know.  I enjoyed it, and I’m excited to read the rest of the series as I’ve heard it just gets even better and more wow and just good.  And also the foreshadowing towards the end was just ‘YUSSSSS GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK!!!’  So I’d say yes, yes it is worth the hype.

I just really hope Celaena starts being a bit less of a…well…typical whiny YA heroine.

3.5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Rachel Reviews: Throne of Glass

Leave a Reply

