Rachel Reviews: Back to Childhood

I’ll be honest, I still haven’t been super on top of my reading this week.

My bad.

Thankfully, on my train journey this afternoon I managed to listen to Fantastic Mr. Fox, so you’re all gonna get my review of that today. You’re welcome. Yes, I’m 21.


 

Mr Fox

Title: Fantastic Mr. Fox

Author: Roald Dahl

Genre: Children’s Fiction

Format: Audiobook

Date completed: January 29 2016

Goodreads rating: 4 stars

Blurb: 

Fantastic Mr. Fox is on the run! The three meanest farmers around are out to get him. Fat Boggis, squat Bunce, and skinny Bean have joined forces, and they have Mr. Fox and his family surrounded. What they don’t know is that they’re not dealing with just any fox–Mr. Fox would never surrender. But only the most fantastic plan ever can save him now.

I loved Fantastic Mr Fox when I was a child. I think it was probably my favourite Roald Dahl novel for children.

Listening to it as an adult, I must admit there was something…missing from my memories of it.  The story was the same, obviously, but it was just a bit more magical as a child. Which is to be expected.  I just found that parts of the plot really irritated me.  Such as Mr Fox.  I actually found him a bit annoying. And I found myself getting mad that we was running around drinking cider and killing chickens and being a bit of a cocky wanker whilst forcing poor Mrs. Fox, who is literally starving to death, to cook a huge feast for him and all his lads. Turns out things like that irritate me these days.

Anyway, this is a fantastic book for children, as are all Roald Dahl books. I definitely recommend them if you’ve got children. Also side note, Chris O’Dowd reads the audiobook and he’s hilarious.

3.5/5

2 thoughts on “Rachel Reviews: Back to Childhood

Leave a Reply

