Rachel Reviews: Wolf by Wolf

One of my 2016 goals is to complete the 50 book challenge, or at least struggle across the finish line clutching my ‘to read list’ dramatically in December. To help keep me accountable I thought I’d dedicate Friday to book reviews! Spoiler free reviews for the most part, so I don’t ruin the books for any of you. It will also give you the chance to suggest other books for me the read in the comments, because I don’t know if you noticed but 50 books is A LOT of books.

Anyway, enough of my rambling. Let’s begin.


 

25907472

Title: Wolf by Wolf

Author: Ryan Graudin

Genre: Dystopian (Young Adult)

Format: Paperback

Date completed: January 5th 2016

Goodreads rating: 5 stars

Blurb: 

Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in the kingdom of death.  Wolves howled up her arm.  A whole back of them – made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss.  It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. 

Germany, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war.

Seventeen-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

I stumbled across Ryan Graudin’s book whilst watching a booktube video one day when I should have been doing something more productive, and it didn’t take me long to pick up Wolf by Wolf and start reading.  I mean, can you honestly tell me that after reading THAT blurb you’d just put the book down and wander off disinterested??? Exactly. And if that hasn’t quite grabbed you, let me explain that Yael getting close to Hitler involves A MOTORCYCLE RACE FROM GERMANY TO JAPAN!! (P.S this isn’t a spoiler, it’s on the front cover).

To say that I loved this book would be an understatement.  I devoured it.  I felt angry, elated, and so ridiculously anxious at points that I thought my heart was about to leap from my chest and strangle me for not reading fast enough. I loved the character of Yael, the way Graudin revealed her story and how she came to be the girl to kill Hitler slowly.  I loved the action of the race scenes, the adrenaline they sparked even as I was lying in bed with a cup of tea. I loved the dynamic between Yael and the other (male) characters, the way the standard YA trope of insta-love was dealt with (I won’t say more), the language they used.

The only bit I didn’t love was the ending, at first at least.  I found it a bit anticlimactic after the 370 pages of heart-pumping adrenaline and anxiety I’d just been through. But then I discovered that Wolf by Wolf is actually the first book in a duology (the second is due to be released later this year).  This discovery changed everything.  The ending was no longer anti-climactic.  It was a cliff-hanger.  Leaving me on the edge of my seat longing to break into Graudin’s apartment just so I can read what happens next (I mean, I won’t, but that’s how I felt).

So I mean, in case you hadn’t noticed I loved this book. It’s YA but I’d recommend it for anyone who likes alternate-history-with-a-bit-of-a-twist type novels.

I also think film producers/directors/people should please make this into an epic movie. Thanks in advance.

5/5.

One thought on “Rachel Reviews: Wolf by Wolf

Leave a Reply

