Encountering Problems – ROW80 Check In

I got off to a fantastic start last week with my goals.  In fact, I had a super productive week in general.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get much plotting done.  Well, that’s not true.  I did.  I’ve been jotting down ideas I’m having as a get them, and the general plot is starting to take shape.  So really I have been plotting.  I just haven’t written a massive summary or a list of consecutive dot points or cue cards or anything like that to actually set out the overarching plot, or the role each of my POV characters will play in it.

Partially this was because I was super busy – a heaps of uni work, exercising 6 days a week, and early starts so I could be productive left me feeling pretty exhausted at the end of the day, so I didn’t always feel like rigorous writing activities.  I also just didn’t have much inspiration.  It came in trickles, like the last drops of water from a tap or the desperate attempts of a stream in the Australian summer.   Hopefully this week the trickle will speed up, although as November approaches I’m getting increasingly stressed about the amount of work I need to complete, so perhaps it won’t.

Regardless, here are my goals for the week ahead:

Plot: The main one, obviously.  This combines goals 2 and 3 from last week.  I need a plot.

Commit: I want to push myself to committing time each day to writing work, the same way I commit time each weekday to uni work.  Even if it’s only half an hour before I crawl into bed and watch Netflix in the dark read a book.

Read: Not exactly related to writing, but in a way it sort of is.  I want to read more so I’m spending less time staring at a screen (the majority of my uni work is screen based), and because I really miss feeling like I have the time to read.

I hope your goals are going well for the round, and I’ll see you on Wednesday for the mid-week check in (I also post on Tuesday and Friday but you don’t have to come to those).

18 thoughts on “Encountering Problems – ROW80 Check In

  1. Netflix is a thief of time at my house. Thankfully, we just finished watching a series, as long as I don’t pick a new one to watch I should be OK. Good luck finding a balance between uni and writing. Balance is difficult. I know it is for me.

      1. We were/are watching different Star Trek spinoffs in the evenings through Amazon Prime, but for a change-up today we started watching season one of The Wire. Erm… there went our Sunday!

      2. Too many options! I know! My watchlist on AMZ Prime is over 100 things long now, and most of them series! My Netflix (when I had it) was just as bad.

        I don’t watch anything (except exercise videos) without my spouse, though, so at least my TV time is restricted to between 6 and 10 p.m.

        Except on the weekends.

        We started watching season 1 of The Wire today…

  2. If you peek at my goals, you’ll see that I set myself goals that can be attained through Netflix. I’ve done this for Enterprise, because I can forever be watching Enterprise, and, this past summer, for Firefly, which I’d never seen (and now love!).

    Anyway, I set myself a specific number of episodes, and then I’m done until the next session. I’ve also been setting reading goals the same way.

    At any rate, I hope you find your way to relaxing at least a little. I’ve found that the trickles can become torrents if I just let go a bit…

    In the meantime, a trickle is better than nothing, and those drips and drops can really add up. =)

  3. Yay for drips and drops! That’s better than what a lot of people get! I agree with Shan about letting yourself relax. Sometimes that can really help loosen up those dribbles. 🙂 I think you have some good goals going here. Reading is so important! It’s great that you’re including that in your goals. 😀
    Best of luck going forward!

  4. I understand wanting to spend less time looking at a screen. I’m a night owl, and I try to spend my nights reading instead of watching Netflix or Hulu. Not that I always succeed at watching less TV, but that’s the goal, and having a good book by my side helps encourage me to read.

    Good luck with your goals! Have a wonderful week!

  5. Sometimes you have to give the ideas that come to you time to compost. Let them heat up, turn them over occasionally. Eventually, they’ll be ready to plant a plot and you can watch your story grow. 🙂

  6. I know how challenging it is to balance school, work, creativity, and life (I’m only 10 months past my MBA graduation at this point and STILL have flashbacks…). The fact that you are getting even little dribbles of creativity in the mix is impressive! My final year… my creative ventures ended up having to take the very back of the back burners, and it’s been difficult for me to get back in the swing of things since then. Be proud of yourself for staying on track. 🙂

Leave a Reply

