Top 5 Friday: Graphic Novels

This week’s topic for Top 5 Friday is top graphic novels.

One problem.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a graphic novel, or at least I haven’t read one since I was in primary school. It’s not that I don’t like them, or don’t want to read them, I just don’t own any.

So, with that said I’m going to tweak the topic slightly to my top want-to-read graphic novels!

5. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Alan Moore & Kevin O’Neill
I’m probably the only person to say this, but The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003) is one of my favourite films. It makes sense that I’d want to read the graphic novel.  It’s set in an alternate Victorian England (squee) and follows the story of various literary figures (squee) as they have to work together in the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.  Definitely on my to read list!

4. The Arrival, Shaun Tan
I’ve heard nothing but good things about this graphic novel, and have been meaning to read it pretty much since it was released in 2007.  It tells the story of an immigrant who has left his family behind in search of a better future.  Obviously immigration is a pretty hot topic at the moment globally, but it’s a bit more personal for me than that.  My dad came over to Australia with his parents and sister when he was four, and although they didn’t face as many hardships as many immigrants and refugees have, they still had a pretty tough time.  I feel like the Arrival is going to be one of those emotional stories that makes me cry..

3. Persepolis, Marjane Satripi (translators: Mattias Ripa, Blake Ferris, Anjali Singh)
Another renowned graphic novel, Persepolis tells the story of Iran and the Islamic Revolution through the eyes of a young girl.  It’s supposed to be amazing, enlightening, intense, shocking, and all the other adjectives you expect to describe a fantastic read!

2. V for Vendetta, Alan Moore & David Lloyd
Yet another one of my favourite films, V for Vendetta is classic dystopian – fascist Britain, a rebel, resistance and oppression.  I already know I’m going to love this graphic novel, I just need to read it!

1.Maus (vol. 1 & 2), Art Spiegelman
Another pretty famous graphic novel, and one that deals with one of recent history’s most shocking time periods: Nazi Germany and the Holocaust.  I already know this is going to be incredible.  I know it’s going to be confronting.  I know it’s going to make me cry.  I know it’s going to be a book I’ll recommend to everyone.  I can’t wait to read it!

So there you have it, my top 5 to read graphic novels.  Are you a graphic novels fan? Are there any you want to read? Read any on my list? Let me know, and see you Sunday for a ROW update!

Leave a Reply

