One of those days

I am having one of those days.  The days where there’s so much to do that it makes you just a little bit overwhelmed and a little bit like eating some ice cream or cake or chocolate.

But never to fear, optimistic and positive Rachel is still bubbling around wanting to be productive.  I’m actually writing this post now to spur myself back into the mood for writing so I can go and work on chapter 4 of Rebellion.  Perhaps I’ll sit outside…

A quick ROW update before we get down to the WIPpety goodness!

Edit up to chapter 6 of Rebellion.
I am up to chapter 4 now, which I will begin editing as soon as this post is finished and more tea is made.  I’m pretty happy with this progress.  Ideally I will have chapter 4 done by tonight, work on chapter 5 tomorrow night whilst house sitting, and then maybe even get a few more chapters done over the weekend! Yay!

Work out what to do about NaNo
think I’ve worked out what I want to do, but I need to do a few more calculations before I commit to it and tell you all. Check back on Sunday.

Finish reading Harry’s Game
This probably won’t happen unless I have a particularly relaxed weekend, but you never know.

Write WIPpet blog post and additional blog post for Friday.
Well, this is my WIPpet post, so far so good!

Comment on 10 blogs
I’ve already commented on a couple (probably about 4 or 5), so on target!

Write an additional 2,000 words for my politics draft
This is sepcifically Friday’s task, so not yet.

Research for history essay
I was supposed to start this yesterday, but a quick hot chocolate with a friend turned into 2.5 hours of chatting.  But there’s always tomorrow!

Have exchange subjects prepared for meeting with course coordinator.
Sort of.  I just need to print them off. So basically, achieved.

I’m really proud of how productive I’ve been considering I haven’t been having the greatest of weeks.  Hopefully I can keep it up (or even better, improve it!)

Now onto WIPpet Wednesday, the weekly blog hop where talented WIPpeteers share snippets from their works in progress, lead by the fearless K. L. Schwengel.

Today, I have a snippet from the newly rewritten/edited chapter 3 of Rebellion.  Mind your eyes, it’s all sparkly and new.  Some of you may remember that a few months ago I was really struggling with this chapter, I just COULDN’T write something I was happy with, nothing was working, and Taura was just increasingly pissing me off. Well, the other day I had an epiphany and realised that was because it was just all wrong.  So, on Monday afternoon I fixed it and a brand spanking new 3,000 word chapter.  Huzzah! Celebratory cake for all! (Just kidding, I’m supposed to be eating healthily. Carrot stick?)

Without further ado, here are 24 lines (10+14) from the end of chapter 3.

“What are you doing?”

“Enjoying myself!”

“We don’t have time.  We need to be at sea by dawn.”

Taura rolled her eyes.  Whoever he was, this was clearly his first time.  “No one knows this bay exists except us.  No one will come looking for us, and no one checks ships once they’re at sea, it’s only when they’re leaving the ports.  Which we’re not doing.”  She was now close enough to the man to see his grimace, and also to see the familiar face grinning from the ship behind him.  “Leon!”

“Stop teasing the poor man Taura, he’s been fretting all night.  You’re late.”

Taura shrugged, hopping from one foot to another playfully.  “I got lost.”

Leon chuckled.  “That I believe.  Come now, apologise to Oren.  He’s never met you before, he doesn’t know how annoying you can be.”

Balancing on one foot, Taura flashed a smile at Oren, who smiled back through pursed lips.  “Sorry.  My name’s Taura.”

“I know.”

Taura turned to Leon.  “He isn’t very friendly.”

In response Oren turned from Taura and boarded the ship, slipping into the cabin without a word.

Following at a slower pace, Taura motioned towards the now closed door.  “See.  Not very friendly.”

Laughing, Leon reached forwards and pulled her aboard.  “And you’re not very punctual.  We all have our faults.  Now hurry up, we have a long way to travel.”

 

Now I’m off to be productive (in theory).  See you Friday! 😀

 

20 thoughts on “One of those days

  1. “He’s never met you before, he doesn’t know how annoying you can be.” *snork* I think people have said that about me. I love this scene. You’ve painted a very good picture and given some nice character insights. Taura…honestly. *shakes head, rolls eyes*

    1. I also think people have said that about me! I’m glad you enjoyed this scene, I loved writing it. Taura doesn’t always get to let her playful side out, so it was nice to have some fun with her!

  2. *shakes pom-poms vigourously* Awesome work towards your goals – I’m sure you’re ploughing through Chapter 4 even as I write this. So, I come with carrot-sticks, and a smidgen of chocolate…just to keep you going 🙂

    Loved the snippet – you showed this scene vividly and with delicious humour. I could clearly see the facial expressions, you painted them so well. Look forward to catching up with you soon.

  3. “What are you doing?”

    “Enjoying myself!”

    “We don’t have time.”…

    Hahaha! I love that, and that sounds like something I would say: We don’t have time for FUN! (I am definitely NOT the “fun” parent.)

  4. Sorry to hear it’s been a rough week. It’s weird how life goes in cycles like that. Some weeks I’m a complete disaster and others I can truck along just fine. Anyhow, yay for all that you’ve managed to do despite the difficulty!

    I like Taura’s cheerful exuberance. And the name Leon made me smile – it’s my grumpy old dad’s name, haha. He has always seemed like a bit of a lion to me. Anyhow, nice work here! Carry on. 🙂

  5. I really liked Taura. Very nice job. I fully understand the type of day you’re having. Had one of those myself on Monday. Went to the store and bought one of those fancy cheesecake sampler thingies and that was my dinner. I earned every damn bite of it just for putting up with the day I had to put up with. lol.

    1. Oh my goodness, you get me! A few months ago I had a morning so disastrous that I had a bowl of ice cream for breakfast!
      I’m glad you liked Taura. She’s such a special character to me, I’m glad I could finally give her a chapter that shows her personality!

  6. “He’s never met you before, he doesn’t know how annoying you can be.” Hmm – I get the feeling you have to be close to someone to talk to them that way. 🙂 Nice job!

  7. I like Taura’s playfulness, but I can also see how it could get annoying, especially if you don’t know her very well. Great excerpt – I’m intrigued as to where they’re going and what they’re gonna do when they get there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

