In denial

I refuse to believe that it’s Wednesday. If it’s Wednesday that means another week is almost over, I missed Sunday’s ROW check in, I have three days worth of unachieved work AND I need to come up with a WIPpet quick smart.

Alas, my computer assures me that it is in fact Wednesday, my schedule informs me that I did in fact miss Sunday’s check in and have three days worth of unachieved work, and my comments from last week demand a long WIPpet quick smart.

Shit.

 

This week hasn’t actually been as unsuccessful as the above recap would make you think. Sunday was my birthday and I was too busy being awesome to write a blog post (read: I was too busy putting delicious brunch/cake/chocolate/steak/Argentinian food/mousse into my face to write anything). On Monday I spent most of the day cleaning and rearranging our kitchen/living room. On Tuesday I had uni and caught up with my best friend. And today I had an emotionally draining appointment in the morning, played Sims 4 all afternoon (my Sim topped the author career branch…yes, I am living vicariously through my sim, so what?), had a nap, woke up with a headache of death, ate delicious pizza and then procrasti-youtubed for a few hours.

Today was less productive than the other days.

Do I care? Nope. Well, a little bit, because I have a lot of stuff to do over the next few weeks and may be returning to Victoria for a few days next week which means a whole bunch of deadlines just catapulted forwards alarmingly. But mostly I don’t care.

I’m already looking forwards to the next round. I’ve got some big plans, which will in theory be achievable due to the fact I finish uni for the semester by the first week of November (give or take). Of course, reality may laugh at said theory and throw things at it, but I remain optimistic.

 

Now, onto the WIPpet. Last week, I received some rather assertive comments requesting I provide more than a few words this week. Most of those commenters are fellow WIPpeteers, who can be found here, including our leader K. L. Schwengel! As a result of said comments I was almost tempted to post another teensy WIPpet to make myself laugh, but then I decided that would be mean and I’m feeling nice today.

Well, nice-ish.

Today I have twenty sentences for you all. There is a convoluted WIPpet math [(9 + 1) x 2 = 20] (month + month – second numeral of date – first numeral of date x first numeral of year/month – second numeral of date), but in reality it’s because I turned 20 on Sunday  and that’s pretty darn exciting! (And sort of related to the date…ish…)

Go just with it or I shall take my long WIPpet elsewhere!

This long(ish) WIPpet contains Siri, who has featured in the previous two WIPpets, and a for now unidentified mystery man. This snippet occurs at some stage after last weeks snippet, how soon after shall remain a mystery! *evil laugh*

 

Suddenly, Siri’s concealed blade, her jealously and her fear were all forgotten, replaced by surprise. “You’re offering me a job?”

His head cocked to the side as his eyes fixed on hers. “You’re surprised? Why?”

Despite herself, Siri snorted, her anxiety and amusement bubbling to the surface together.  “It’s just…unexpected, that’s all.”

“Sometimes opportunities present themselves in the most unexpected ways. They are usually the ones that should be taken most eagerly.”

Biting her lip, Siri’s eyes flickered toward the door where she knew the guards were waiting.

“You don’t trust me, do you? That I understand. I can assure you though, I am not trying to trick you.   The offer is genuine, if you wish to accept it.”

“And if I don’t?” The thin steel of the blade felt cool once again against Siri’s skin.

“I would be…”  He paused, glancing down at his desk as though searching for something. When his eyes met hers once more, they burned with unvoiced yearning and pain so alien from the calm authority he had previously possessed, his smile suddenly sad, if only for a moment.  “Disappointed.”

 

 

34 thoughts on “In denial

  1. Ooh I’m intrigued. I seem to recall reading one of your excerpts a while ago but I haven’t read any for a while so I’m not up to speed on what’s going on! As much as anyone can be up to speed when reading random WIPpets!

    Anyway, lovely scene. At the end it seems a little as though the man has feelings for Siri,though I may be misreading it! 🙂

    1. Even being up to speed wouldn’t help with this one! 😛

      I don’t wanna spoil things, but I will say your interpretation of the end is the closest to what’s actually happening :O if only we knew who the mystery man was…

  2. I like your snippet and I would like to know more, but I’m not sure about the first sentence. It can be read as “Surprise replaced Siri’s concealed blade, her jealously and her fear”, which doesn’t really work as emotions can’t replace physical things. It would read better if you left out the blade all together.
    And happy birthday! How does it feel to no longer be a teenager?

  3. Oh, that last word…disappointed – there’s so much power in it. I actually shuddered. Great tension building, I really enjoyed the thrilling scene. Great job 🙂 I also enjoyed the general humour in your post. I laughed out loud at your summary ‘shit’. I had a similar feeling! There’s never enough time 🙂

  4. Yummy! i love the unspoken tension between these two, and within Siri. You show it so well in the way she loses awareness of her blade, then feels it again. I wonder if the guards outside are hers or his…?

    I wanna know what happens next! C’mon Wednesday!

    Your summary – best one I’ve read in a looong time! I giggled and giggled. =) I hope this week goes better for you!

      1. As T’Pol might say,”Indeed.”

        The honesty and angst came through loud and clear. But instead of a tirade, you gave us a delightfully funny little rant. I don’t usually get nearly so much enjoyment out of other people’s discomfiture, but you – you tickled me with your ire! =D

  5. Uh-oh, what is going on now? Siri seems to have gotten herself into it deep this time. But an unexpected job offer? See, it’s not all bad. 😉

    One nit, watch this kind of teaming up rhythm. You’ve got three pairings in this piece: ‘jealously and her fear’, ‘anxiety and amusement’, ‘yearning and pain’.

Leave a Reply

