Return of the WIPpet

See what I did there. It’s a Lord of the Rings reference. If you didn’t get it, get out. No, just go an educate yourself. It’s worth it. After you’ve read this post of course…it’s short!

Today has been a Lord of the Rings-y day. I have them sometimes.  For example, the only song I listen to today was ‘Over Hill’ from the first Hobbit movie, and I literally listened to it ON REPEAT for the majority of the day (probably a solid 4 hours worth of the  same song). I’m still singing it in my head now. It makes me happy.  I actually just had to stop what I was writing to find it on YouTube and put it on. No, I don’t have a problem. It’s SO GOOD!  Check it out if you don’t believe me!  It’s the last 30ish seconds that just get me. Those strings. That brass. That percussion. Mmmm.

 

On to today’s WIPpet. I would be lying if I said I’d done any work even closely related to my writing. Life is busy. And life being busy leaves little time for writing.

In the sake of actually keeping this blog alive however, I do have a WIPpet. It’s from a section of the first draft that I think will make it through the editing process to the beta-reader draft, but you never know. No context because it’s more fun that way. Today’s WIPpet math is 3 sentences (for the 3rd) from chapter 12 (because 3+9=12).

Desperately she stared at Tonio, willing him with her deep blue eyes to stay. Much to her dismay he continued to walk towards the door. Then, all too suddenly, he was gone.

If you would like to join my fellow WIPpeteers and I, the linky thingy is there for the clicking! And of course thanks to K.L. Schwengel for being awesome and hosting.

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to listen to Over Hill again. And again. And again.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Return of the WIPpet

  1. That’s a poignant little snippet. I wonder why he’s left—and why she wants him to stay.
    (And I did maybe get just a little happy inside at your Lord of the Rings-y post title. 🙂 )

  2. Speaking of Lord of the Rings….the song from Desolation of Smaug “I See Fire” is my current battle anthem. Every time I’m writting a battle scene, I put it on to play. It is my current most favoritest song EVER…for right now. Until something else comes along and usurps its place. As for the excerpt, very intriguing little paragraph. I can’t wait to see what happens.

    1. It’s perfect writing music. I usually listen to the Hobbit LotR and GoT soundtracks whilst writing and find them perfect! I’m glad you enjoyed the snippet, and I will be trying to post WIPpets every week!

Leave a Reply

