ROW80 Update

I know I’ve missed a few updates now, but considering this is the challenge that knows I have a life, I don’t see why that should be a problem.

I’m not going to go into the details, but my life has been very, very, very hectic and stressful and gah lately, and as a result I have been neglecting my blog partially out of necessity and partially out of having nothing in particular to say.

Still, with 3 weeks to go until this round finishes, I thought I may as well attempt to end it with a bang of productivity, rather than adopt my usual strategy of giving up until the next beginning (I like beginnings), which is rather fitting as there are a lot of things I’m committing to changing at the moment.

So without further ado, here is an update on my goals, and a promise not to give up just yet!

Writing: 2 hours of writing related work on both Saturdays and Sundays: writing, editing, planning, maps, world building etc. Write regular articles/reviews for uni magazine each fortnight.  Mmmmm, nope. In my defense these past two weekends have been insanely busy. I just got back from visiting Victoria for my friends’ engagement party (wheee), and the weekend before that boyf had people over and we had housework and I really just needed a break. This weekend my dad is coming up to visit, so it’s unlikely much writing work will get done then either. But that’s ok. Before the next round starts I want to focus more on planning and maps, solidifying the plot for MS1/MS2 in order to make editing an easier experience.

University: Stick to the timetable I’ve created for uni work: 9am-5pm Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. Avoid procrastination. Work hard to achieve the best grades possible. This has been surprisingly successful. I’ve had a few slump days, but on the whole I’ve been productive on the days I was supposed to be productive, and have definitely been putting a lot more work into this semester than I did last semester!

Work: Attempt to work at least 10 hours a week: 5 hours Mondays and 5 hours Wednesdays to start saving money for exchange. This has also been a total and utter failure, but it isn’t through lack of trying. I do promotional work, and as a result a lot of my job depends on what promotions are available, whether they fit my schedule, and whether I fit the promotion brief. I have been looking around for additional job options however (including working at a boarding school), so who knows?

Blog: ROW80 updates each Sunday and Wednesday, WIPpet Wednesday, another blog post Friday each week. We all know I’ve been slack with this one. Uni has been hectic recently and my life has been a bit chaotic which doesn’t leave much time or patience for blogging. Besides, considering my lack of productivity I really haven’t had much to say. I shall try again this week though, even if my WIPpet is total rubbish!

Fitness/Health: Exercise between 3 and 5 days a week. Eat healthily. Drink more water. Relative levels of success. I could still exercise more (I’m planning on going for a run today), I could probably eat a bit less chocolate/ice cream and drink a bit more water, but I’m pretty happy so far. I have been eating healthily most of the time and drinking water and exercising, which is better than nothing!

 

So there you have it, my limited but still existent progress. If you want to see how some of the other ROW80-ers are going, click this link here!

 

3 thoughts on “ROW80 Update

  1. Even in the midst of many commitments, this post shows progress — and productivity! May you persevere as we work through the last 3 weeks of this round, achieving those goals most important to you. I hope WIPpet Weds works a little better for you — it took me nearly two complete rounds before I could consistently participate!

  2. You said, “I know I’ve missed a few updates now, but considering this is the challenge that knows I have a life, I don’t see why that should be a problem.” That made me smile. That’s what ROW80 is all about–being flexible with your goals when life gets hectic.
    Good luck with your semester and with your other goals!

Leave a Reply

