ROW80 Begins: Come at me second half of 2014

Semester has ended. I’m on holidays in the UK. Bloggers and non-bloggers everywhere are sharing their goals for the second half of the year. And I’m feeling pumped. Like I could take on anything. Even ROW80.

ROW80 appealed to me because it is self-admittedly “a challenge that recognizes that I have a life I can’t ditch, but still provides a challenge and the support of a community of others who are working alongside me with their own goal, their own lives, learning to juggle.” Don’t get me wrong, I loved NaNoWriMo, but it’s also nice to be able to push myself with my writing in a way that’s actually sustainable, and that doesn’t require me to neglect uni/housework/friends and family etc (not that I did that with NaNo mind you, I have always been a strong believer in balance).  Here’s the other thing I like about ROW80. I don’t just want to write a novel, I want to be a writer. So whilst NaNo is great for forcing me to get words out, it doesn’t particularly help me with my long term goal. I know there are programs after NaNo for editing, and Camp NaNoWriMo, and all of that, but it just doesn’t work for me.

So here I am, one week into July, committing properly to my dream. Obviously it can’t be first priority all the time (I do in fact need to complete my degree and earn money), but with this post I’m promising to incorporate it into life, to learn how to juggle my commitments without sacrificing writing, and begin the path to being a writer.

With that all said, here are my goals for this round (which as far as I’m aware finishes some time in September or October, so no NaNo goals here).

Main goalHave Rebellion edited and ready to send to beta readers.

  • Edit/rewrite/write 7 chapters a fortnight: According to my plans, Rebellion is likely to have 42 chapters at the end of this. Because I will have started this goal a bit early, I have around 12 weeks before the end of this round. Therefore, by my calculations, 7 chapters a fortnight x 6 fortnights = 42 chapters.
  • Spend equal amounts of time on writing and university: I only have two subjects next semester, and both of them are research essays, which means a lot of researching and writing.  I figure, if I spend an equal amount of time on both subjects and Rebellion (around 10-15 hours a week each), I should be able to achieve my goal super easily!

Blog goal: Post three or four times a week (depending on mood/life etc).

  • Participate in WIPpet Wednesday every week: This will force me to have new, edited material to contribute every week, which will help me keep on track with editing.
  • Start ‘novel journey’ posts: Write or share posts about novel writing, such as planning, tips, software, etc.
  • Write a book review post at least once a month: Sometimes I forget to read, which is sad because I love doing it, and it’s good for writers to read. Hopefully needing to post a review will force me to take time out to read.

So there you have it. My goals for this round.

Hopefully all goes to plan, and I’ll be seeing you again on Wednesday for WIPpet Wednesday. Unless the UK is too exciting. In which case you’ll just have to wait!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “ROW80 Begins: Come at me second half of 2014

Leave a Reply

