WIPpet Wednesday #2

My plan was to have the first chapter of Rebellion edited by tonight so I could give you all a tasty, newly revised and edited snippet.  Unfortunately, life got in the way, and that didn’t happen.  What you are instead receiving is the newly written, un-revised follow on from last week’s opening sentences.  I promise I’ll do better next week!

Join myself and the other WIPpeters here, or just take a browse and read some more interesting snippets.  Anyway, today’s WIPpet math is 7 sentences because 3 + 0 + 4 = 7.

 

In front of him, the men he had assembled around the long meeting table stared mutely at its gnarled surface, all desperate not to meet his eyes. Infuriated by the silence, he thrust the letter away from him and seethed as its decent slowed to a languid drift.
“One of you must be responsible. Everybody in this room knew the importance of this task, everyone had a task to do, and someone has failed!” Satisfied that his shouting at recaptured the attention of the chamber, Rolando lowered himself into his seat. “We must act quickly to remedy this damage. But first, someone must be punished.”

 

Any feedback in time for edits/rewrites of chapter 1 would be welcome! Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday #2

  1. What on earth is in that letter? Also, I wonder who is responsible and what punishment Rolando has in mind. From that snippet, it sounds like they could all be guilty!

  2. Love this, “…and seethed as its decent slowed to a languid drift.” I can just see it drifting down in the momentary, tense silence. Someone is definitely in for it. The tension is building and I’m not sure I want to be in anyone’s shoes around that table.

  3. Oh, that drifting letter…I’m wondering what sound it makes as it hits that table….I imagine it kind of echoing in that room, in that moment of waiting before it all hits the fan….

    I definitely am ready for more!

Leave a Reply

