Introductions and WIPpet Wednesday #1

So here we are.  The first real post for this blog. A very wise woman once told me “let’s start at the very beginning”, so that’s exactly what I’ll do.

First, some background/context to MS1.  You may have to wait until next week for proper story context, but for now I’ll give you its back story.  I first started writing my novel (then called The Rebellion) way back in 2007.  Since then, we’ve gone through phases, with my writing sometimes having to take a back seat during times of particular stress at school, but now that I’m at university I’ve found myself spending more and more time working on it, and taking it increasingly seriously.  In September last year, as a way of preparing for my first ever NaNoWriMo, I decided to rewrite my novel (now titled just Rebellion).  By October 31st at 11:59pm, I had finished the rewrite at 62,500 words.  (I shall discuss my NaNoWriMo experience in a later post).  Now, a few months on, I’m ready to start the first proper round of editing in preparation for beta readers and all that serious writerly jazz.

But now, on to my WIPpet.  WIPpet Wednesday is hosted by K. L. Schwengel, and as far as I’m aware you can join here.  The idea is to post a snippet of your current work in progress (WIP) that somehow corresponds to the date. For today, fittingly I feel for my first proper post and my first WIPpet, my snippet is the first 27 words (23 + 4) of Rebellion. (Please be nice, it hasn’t been edited yet).

 

“Which one of you is responsible for this?”

Glowering, Lord Rolando surveyed the room, searching for someone to blame for the letter grapsed in his clenched fist.

 

19 thoughts on “Introductions and WIPpet Wednesday #1

  1. Welcome!!! yay! I want to know what is in the letter. Like no joke! Gotta be something bad, or at least something he perceives as bad, whether it be secrety info or just info or BAD info. o.O my mind is running a muck with the possibilities.

    Good luck on the editing, beta reading, and editing again and again. I’m in the middle of the process with you, and it’s my least favorite part. =P

  2. First of all, you win. Your banner quotes Tolkien, and your first paragraph quotes Sound of Music. 🙂

    That opening is a heck of a teaser! Whatever is in the letter must be pretty…something to get that reaction. Can’t wait to find out what it is.

  3. Welcome in, Rachel.

    So… since everyone so far has decided it’s horribly bad news in the letter, I have to go the other way and say it’s a practical joke that Rolando has just discovered had been played on his best friend’s sister and he wants to impress her with how fast he can catch the prankster! 😀

    No? Dang! 😉

      1. Well, had to test he optimist theory at least once. Though, bad news for the characters i usually good news for the readers.

  4. Welcome, Rachel! I hope you enjoy the WIPpeteers. It’s always fun to have someone new on board and get peeks at another writer’s work. 🙂

    Nice little excerpt to start us off. Rolando is definitely not a happy camper at the moment, and I get the feeling he’s going to have a hard time pinning that letter on anyone.

  5. Rachel! Welcome to the group, so happy to have you. 🙂 The hills are alive with sound of music–this movie has the best songs! Just wanted to add that before I move onto the WIP. I’m with Adrian, what’s in that letter? I love the suspense and tension in this excerpt. 🙂 Great work.

Leave a Reply

